Huntington IDRU Player Of The Year

2018 27 Lachlin HuntingtonBowral Blacks exciting Fly Half Lachlan Huntington took out the big prize at the IDRU Grand Final Dinner on Wednesday night. Huntington who will have a key role in Saturdays Grand Final against Avondale, was on hand to receive the IDRU Player of the Year Award for 2018.

Huntington polled top points just ahead of runner up, Shoalhavens Steven Brandon, capping off a big maiden First Grade year with Bowral. After starring for the Blacks Grand Final winning 2nd Grade side in 2017, Huntington stepped up to the top grade this season making the No.10 jumper his own and guiding the side to great success. The award presentation comes on the back of his twenty point haul in last Saturday’s Final victory over University which propelled the Blacks into their first Grand Final since 2002.

Bowral coach Gene Fairbanks was again awarded the Coach of the Year prize for the third year in succession but shares it this year with University Coach Dion Miller. Mark Brandon from Shoalhaven took both the Points scoring awards as leading try scorer and highest overall point’s scorer.

The all-important Volunteer of the Year Awards both went to the Campbelltown Harlequins club. Faith Everingham took the senior award, while Adam Campbell was awarded the Junior Volunteer of the Year.

After being named as the Referee for Saturday’s 2nd Grade Grand Final between Bowral and Campbelltown former IDRU Player of the Year from several years ago, Andrew Strode was awarded Referee of the Year.

In a bumper season for the Dexter Porter Blood Cup with a record number of clubs participating and the highest number of donations made for the season, Shamrocks took home the trophy for 2018.

The Representative Programs for 2018 were huge in a year which saw both the senior men and women Illawarrior sides crowned Country Champions. A big turnout of Rep players were on hand as several awards were presented. Dane Nethery was presented the Senior Rep Player of the Year, as the Colts award went to Opeti Taufahema with Katrina Sagar receiving the Women’s Player award.

Country Cockatoo Reps were acknowledged featuring Tom Baker, Takunda Chimwaza, Leighton Cowley, Sam Latu, Hori Leef, Jay Spencer, Paul Tuala, Aisake Tueva and the Will Tanner award winner as Country Cockatoos Player of the Year Tu’u Taiti-Taanoa.

Also acknowledged were Country Colts Reps, Reece Apolo, Nicholas Cracknel, Opeti Taufahema and Mani Tuigamala and Country Womens Corellas, Belinda Vakawera, Brooke Harper, Candise Pisu, Denise McGrath, Jemima Henry, Kato Mahina, Katrina Sagar, and Rima Butler.

A special presentation was made to Australian Wallaroos rep Atasi Lefai from Campbelltown. Unfortunately her Australian team mate Mahalia Murphy couldn’t attend the event.

You are here: Home Huntington IDRU Player Of The Year